Recipe of The Day: Turkey Brat with Cabbage

Wow, it’s been a while since we’ve posted anything. Sorry folks. I finally got around to taking some pictures as I cooked. JP and I have been trying to watch what we eat. So, I’ve been trying to make some tasty meals that are good for us! This dish I really like, and I used to make it with smoked sausage. Today I made it using Turkey Brats. It’s a lot healthier. If you would like to use smoke sausage you can. It tastes really good.

Turkey Brats with Cabbage

Prep Time: 20 min
Cook Time:30-40 min
Servings: I made a large batch, this could easily feed at least 6 people

Ingredients:
1 small head of cabbage
1 package turkey brats
1 orange bell pepper ( you may use red or yellow. We want to stay with the sweeter variety)
1 can diced tomatoes with garlic peppers and herbs
1 small onion
3-4 cloves of garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
Tony Chachere Creole Seaoning
pepper, garlic salt and celery salt
1/2 cup water

First you want to brown your brats or whatever sausage your going to use in a pan.

You just want to brown the outside. Do not cook all the way through.

Chop your onion, pepper, cabbage, and garlic cloves.

Turn your stove on to medium heat. Place about a tablespoon of olive oil in pot.

Saute your onion, garlic, and pepper until tender in olive oil.


Once tender, add cabbage.


Add about a half a cup of water.

Cover and let simmer about 20 minutes or until cabbage is tender.


Add in the can of diced tomatoes.


Chop up your brats. I had them sitting on the side while I was doing everything else. Then I chopped them up.

Then add them to the pot.

Finally add in your seasonings. I throw in a good amount of Tony Chachere’s you can do it to your taste. It can be spicy so don’t put to much. I also threw in some black pepper, garlic salt, and a tiny bit of celery salt. Let it simmer some more about another 20 minutes on medium-low heat. When done serve over rice.


Hope you enjoy this recipe.

~Feather

Leave a Reply

