Recipe of The Day: Corned Beef Patties

on

This is what I cooked today. Lazy day, I suppose. This dish isn’t so healthy, but it does taste really good! Another recipe that a lot of people in Hawaii do make. You can also find it in bento’s from Japanese places. I like to eat these with rice and a bit of ketchup. You could also eat these for breakfast, since they do pretty much taste like corned beef hash. It’s a fairly simple dish. Ialso do a corned beef cheese frittata which is really good too! I’ll post that another time. On with the recipe!

Corned Beef Patties

Prep Time: 15-20 minutes
Cook Time: 20-25 minutes
Serving Size: Family of Four

Ingredients:
3 small potatoes (any variety I used Russet)
1 can of Corned Beef
1/4 cup onion (or as much as you like!!!!)
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
1/4 cup panko (I had to make my own bread crumbs I was out of Panko)
1 egg
oil for frying
All Purpose Flour for dreding

The ingredients

Peel your potatoes.

Chop your taters!

Boil your potatoes just the same way you would do for mashed potato. Boil until you can break them with a fork. Not to soft though. Nice and tender!

Open up your can of corned beef. For some reason mine was missing the little key to open the can. So I had to use the can opener! LOL Throw that and the potatoes in the bowl.

Chop your onion. You can chop them fine if you like. I just did a rough chop. We really don’t mind the pieces.

Like I mentioned before, I ran out of Panko. Sooo, I’m improvising with a hamburger bun! Threw it in my mini processor and grinded away! Instant bread crumbs!

Mix all ingredients.


Form mixture into a patty with your hands. Dredge in flour. Be sure to coat both sides. You can tap off excess if you get to much on there. I preheat my stove to medium heat and let my oil get hot. You do not want to use to much oil. DO NOT COVER THE PATTIES IN OIL! I would say just enough to barely come up the side of patty. Fry until golden brown and your done! Fairly easy and very fast to make. Hope you enjoy!

~Feather

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Darlene Quintos-Cairns says:

    I live in AZ now … Maui born & raised .. Where do you get the Libby corn beef from ??? I guess any other brand will do … And I love to mix with. Mayo & s/p for sandwich spread too …

    1. banginfood says:

      Hi, I usually buy mine at my local grocery store. It seems that the price has gone up on it though. I think the last time I bought some it was over $6!

      1. cathy says:

        I buy it at the Dollar General or Family Dollars when it’s on sale.

Leave a Reply

