Recipe of The Day: Cold Somen Salad


I’m on a Asian food kick. I’ve been craving a lot of my favorite local treats. I did make a trip to the Asian store to pick some things up. One thing I do love is Cold Somen noodles. I haven’t eaten any in a long time, so I picked some up the other day. I ate some for lunch yesterday and had some today as well. Yesterday, I made a sauce that was on the back of the package. It had, chopped garlic, sesame seed oil, vinegar, sugar, and Korean Chili Paste. It was pretty tasty with a few pieces of chopped spam on top. Yum! Today, I made a different version. Here is the recipe…

Cold Somen Salad

Prep Time 15-20 minute
Serving Size 1-2 People
Cook Time 2-3 minute for noodles

Ingredients:

Chopped ham (or any other type of meat you like)
1 stalk green onion
1 egg cooked and cut into strips
Furikake or cut strips of Nori or Seaweed
1/4 cup cut cucumber cut into matchsticks
Somen Noodles

Sauce:
1/2 cup Soy Sauce
1/2 cup Rice Wine Vinegar
1/2 cup Sugar
1 teaspoon Sesame Seed Oil

Mix all ingredients for sauce, well. Place in refrigerator. Chop all of your ingredients. Cook egg and cut into strips. Cook Somen noodles according to package. It usually takes about 2-3 minutes. Rinse noodles under cold water. Arrange noodles on plate, add in your other ingredients pour sauce over and enjoy! Simple and easy to make. Very good for hot summer days.

~Feather

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Simple but tasty. Not sure I could do it with spam, but I imagine it would be a great way to use some left over roast chicken.

  2. I am going to try this this weekend – I love noodles! Maybe with some mushrooms instead of meat.

  3. BanginFood says:

    Yes, Chicken or Mushrooms would be good. Spam, it’s a Hawaii thing. LOL We love our Spam.

Leave a Reply

