Recipe of The Day: Fish Tacos

Sorry folks, I have no picture for this one. I made them at the spur of the moment, and devoured them shortly after! LOL I was stuck thinking about what to make for lunch last Saturday. I had some corn tortillas, and decided on tacos. I didn’t feel like shredding chicken, so my next option Fish! We have some lovely pieces of Whiting which were perfect. To my surprise, everyone enjoyed them. So, I’ll be making these again.

Feather’s Fish Tacos

Prep Time:20 minutes
Cook Time:20 minutes
Serving: Family of 4

Ingredients:

4 Medium-Large Whiting Fillets(or any other type of fish you prefer)
1/4 cup Jalepenos chopped
1/4 cup onions
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 lime
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 package of fresh corn tortillas
oil for frying tortillas
sour cream
shredded cheese mix

(Feel free to adjust seasonings to your liking. We love flavor. So add or take in what you like)

You may want to fry your tortillas first, just to get them out the way. I fill a pan about a 1/4 of the way with oil. Heat oil on medium heat on stove. Take a tortilla loosely fold in half. Kind of slowly sway the tortilla back and forth into the oil, and then drop it in all the way. Cook on both sides until crispy. Drain on paper towel.

For the fish. In a saute pan, drizzle the olive oil. Lay your fillets down in pan on medium heat. Sprinkle in your seasonsings, jalepenos, and onions. Cut lime in half, and squeeze one half over fish. Let fish cook on one side for about 5-6 minutes. Turn over, squeeze other half of lime over fish. Let fish cook until it starts to flake and looks done. Remove fish from pan and place in a dish.

Assemble your tacos. Place fish in corn tortilla shells, top with cheese and sour cream. Very simple and it tastes sooo good! Enjoy!

~Feather

One Comment Add yours

  1. Cool post. I love tacos. But I’ll be honest with you, I’ve never made fish tacos. Here in El Paso we don’t always trust the quality of the fish we get at the market. But your’s look so good, I’m going to give them a try. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

