Recipe of The Day: Quick and Easy Ground Turkey Curry

Johnny and I love Indian food! I love all the different spices and flavors. I especially love all the different curry’s. I also love Japanese curry, which isn’t as flavorful and spicy as Indian curry. It is quite good. Sometime it can be poured over Tonkatsu or Kastu dishes, which is equally tasty. It’s time to go grocery shopping so I had to work with what I had on hand. I had fish and ground turkey. I had a box of S&B Golden Curry (which is an island favorite), and the plan was on! Some people make a hamburger curry, but since we rarely eat ground beef anymore we’ll do turkey. I also had a can of Chick Peas. The Indian place always has Curried Chick Peas which I love. So, I did some of those as well. So here we go…

Ground Turkey Curry with Curried Chick Peas

Prep Time: 15-20minutes
Serving:4-6 People
Cook Time:20-30minutes

Ingredients:
1 hot pot of rice
1/2 large onion
4 medium sized potatoes
1 box S&B Curry or any brand you like
1 can of chick peas
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 teaspoon Hot Garlic Chili Sauce (or to taste)
1/2 cup froze or fresh sweet peas
olive oil

In a large pot, drizzle a little bit of olive oil. Heat your stove to medium-high heat. Chop your onion. Throw in ground turkey and onion in pan. Cook turkey and onion until it is thoroughly cooked. You made want to add a bit of salt and pepper.

Once meat and onion are brown and done. Peel and chop your potato. Add in 2 1/2 cups of water. Add in your peas and let simmer. Cook until potatoes are tender.

Here is the curry looks. The kid thought it was a chocolate bar! lol I broke off a bit to add to the chick peas.
Here are my chick peas. I drained most of it, but kept some of the juices. I added a bit of water, some salt and pepper. I added the piece of curry and chili sauce, and let simmer for about 20 minutes.

Break the curry into pieces and throw into pot. Stir it around until all of curry melts and mixes in good with the rest of the ingredients.It should start to thicken and look like this. Let it simmer for about another 10 minutes or so. After that, it’s ready to eat! Eat with hot rice, and don’t forget the chick peas! Very easy and very delicious!

Look at all the peppers I’ve gotten out my garden! I’m letting some dry out! I have so many!

~Feather

2 Comments Add yours

  1. grubby says:

    Tried this the other day. Good stuff. It wasn’t “curry” enough though. I actually contemplated adding another bar of that curry stuff but I didn’t want to mess it up LOL! BTW, your cousin Denise J. told me to tell you, “what’s up!” She is the one who turned me on to your blog. Great Blog!!

  2. BanginFood says:

    Yes, Japanese curry is verrry mild! We both like the Japanese and Indian versions. You could try adding in some curry powder instead of another bar. LOL That will probably kick it up a notch. Thanks for checking us out!

Leave a comment