New Years Dinner


Happy New Years everyone! In keeping with family tradition, I had to cook up this meal!My Grandma’s traditional New Years meal.

For as long as I can remember, my Grandma always cooked this meal on New Years day. This meal must be a part of a lot of people’s families, because I could not find any black eyed peas yesterday! This morning I found some at another store. So the menu consists of black eyed peas, collard greens with ham hock, rice, cornbread, and fried chicken. I also threw in a couple pieces of fried fish and some green beans with bacon and onion. The meal is supposed to represent different things for the New Year. Black Eyed Peas represent luck and Collards Wealth. I’m sure there are many variations on this meal. Here are some shots of our own New Years meal! I was in the kitchen all daaaay!
Collards and Ham Hocks



Fried Chicken

Fried Whiting


Align LeftGreen Beans w/Onion and Bacon
Black Eyed Peas

I hope everyone had a great New Years. I hope 2009 will be a good one for all!

~Feather

Leave a Reply

