Ground Buffalo Patties

At the begining of the my Mother’s vacation she asked me to take her to a health food store so she could get some groceries. My mother likes organic food. So I took her to our local Earth Fare…

This was actually my first time in Earth Fare, and I must say I was amazed. They had so many different things in there. Ranging from fresh fruits & vegetables, a vast collection of wines, imported beers, cheeses, and just a good variety different products. We had a good time in there. They are on the pricey side, but I assume that’s just what you pay for good stuff. My Mom was just finishing up her shopping when we came to the freezer section. We were looking around and noticed the Buffalo patties. My Mom has always been an adventerous eater since I can remember. Thinking back to when she made us eat peanut soup! LOL She was all over it and wanted to try it. I was curious myself, and I kept seeing commercials on tv. So I was in. I don’t exactly remember how much they cost. I want say between $3-4 for two? Not sure.

Well my Mom has gone home, and while she was here she cooked so many things. We never got around to eating the patties. Today I decided I would have a tasting by myself. JP has already tried Buffalo, and said it was very good. I was feeling a little Andrew Zimmermanish, but you know this is nowhere on the scale of unsual things he puts in his mouth! LOL So here we go….


I took pictures of the back of the box to show the nutritional content. Apparently Buffalo is a lot healthier than other meats. It is very lean and low in fat. Which is good.

Two patties come in a vacuum sealed bag. I just cut it open and took one patty out. I put the remaining patty in a freezer storage bag, and back in the freezer. I let the patty sit out for few to thaw out a bit.

There were also some cooking tips on the back. Which helped, because I’ve never cooked Buffalo before. Being that it was just a patty, I was still a little unsure. I chose to use the skillet method. I drizzled a bit of Olive Oil in the pan on Medium-High heat as suggested. I also sprinkled a bit of salt and pepper on the patty before I started cooking. I did cook it 4 minutes on each side. It still looked a bit bloody to me, so I covered it and let it cook some more. It did smell like a regular beef hamburger.

This is how it looked after it was done frying.


Here is my constructed patty. I melted some Pepper Jack on my patty. I put it on a bun with a little bit of mayo, a couple of thinly sliced onion, sliced tomato, ketchup and mustard. With a side of baked fries. My mouth was watering, it looked so good and I was ready to eat!!!

(In my best Andrew Zimmerman voice) Now, here’s the thing….Buffalo is good! I mean it’s really good! Does it taste gamey? No. Does it taste like beef? Yes! It tastes like a piece of Grade A beef at that. It’s lean, but it’s juicy and not dry. It’s full of flavor, and really it just tastes like a really good hamburger. I’m glad I got the chance to try these out. I was pleasantly suprised. I still have the steak filet to try, but I’m sure that will be just as good. So go out and try you some Buffalo! I promise you won’t be disappointed!

~Feather

Leave a Reply

