New Red Potatoes, Buffalo and Beef Tips


I tried something different yesterday. I was reading another blog and saw a potato recipe. I decided to try it out, and add a little more to mine.

It’s a pretty simple recipe. JP suggested we have some kind of beef. I had one more packet of Kansas City Beef Tips my Grandma sent me. They don’t look it in that picture, but they are really tender and flavorful. I also had that Buffalo steak fillet ready to go. So it was a plan.

What you’ll need for the taters:

6-12 New Red Potatoes (or less whatever suits your family size)
Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to taste
Rosemary (or any other type of herb)
Shredded Cheese Blend (whatever kind you like)
Sour Cream
Bacon Bits
Chopped Green Onion or Chives

In a large pot bring some salted water to a boil. Drop in your potatoes and cook until you can poke them with a fork. Drain water. Drizzle a generous amount of Olive Oil on a cookie sheet. Place your potatoes on the sheet.

First Pre Heat oven to 400 degrees. You should use a potato masher for the next step. I do not own one, so I used the bottom of a glass. I wish I did have one. Mine probably could have gotten flatter. Smash the potatoes down until they are nice and flat. Or smash it down as much as you like. That’s how I left mine. Then take a brush. I have one of those silicone brushes, and brush Olive Oil over each tater. Then sprinkle with salt, pepper, and your herb of choice. Bake for 25 minutes.


Once the 25 minutes were up. I topped each tater with good helping of cheese. Put as much as you like. Then I threw them back in the oven to get nice and melted. Yum! This is how they looked when I pulled them out the oven.

This is before I hooked them up.


And here is the after! A little green onion, bacon bit, salt, pepper, and a dallop of sour cream. Mmmmm. You can add as much salt and pepper as needed. They really are like little mini loaded baked potatoes.

Moving on to the second half of my meal. Nothing to spectacular. Real simple.


I thawed out my beef tips and thinly sliced them up. Drizzled some Olive Oil over them. (I’m on a EVOO kick lol) Dashed on some Lemon Pepper and Lawry’s Season Salt. Mixed well with my hands. You don’t want to add to much season salt. It might make the meat to salty.


Heated my pan on Medium-High heat. Drizzled some….you guessed it! Olive Oil in the pan. I fried them bad boys until they were brown. You don’t want to overcook them. They might get tough. They taste really good by themselves, but you could create another meal and throw in some veggies for stir fry.


The Buffalo I used a different pan. I have a cast iron grilling pan. I heated it on Medium heat, drizzled Olive Oil. Seasoned with Lemon Pepper, Season Salt, and rubbed some Olive Oil all over it. Threw it in the pan. Cooked it about 4-5 minutes each side. I don’t like well done steaks, so I was trying to keep it a little pink. It ended up a little to done for me. Kinda tough even. It even had a slight gamey taste. I think I prefer the burgers over the fillet.

I prepared some sweet peas as our veggie. Overall the meal was pretty decent. I could have done without the Buffalo. I will definitely make these taters again. Very simple and pretty good. Enjoy!

~Feather

One Comment Add yours

  1. That looks good, I have red potatoes too but not with all of those ingredients on them.If you want more recipes or if you want to take a look at the collection of tips I have for grilling you can visit http://www.cookingandgrillinoutdoors.com

Leave a Reply

