Recipe of The Day: Easy Corned Beef Hash


Yum yum! We loove Corned Beef Hash! If you want to bypass the pre made canned stuff, and make a sort of home made version here ya go!

I say sort of home made, because I used canned Corned Beef. Maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to attempt to cook a piece of fresh Corned Beef. I always keep a can handy, because I do have a few recipes that I can make. I have already featured my Corned Beef Patties on this site. The pictures didn’t do them justice so it looks kind of scary. lol Other recipes I may feature are, Corned Beef and Cabbage and a Corned Beef Frittata. So for today, here is my simple Corned Beef Hash…

Prep Time: 15-20 Min. (Depending on how many potatoes you have to chop and peel)
Cook Time:20-25 Min.
Serving Size: 4-6 People

Ingredients:

1 Can of Libby’s Corned Beef (whatever brand you like)
1 small onion
8 small New Red Potatoes
Butter
Salt and Pepper to taste

Did you know Libby’s is #1 in America???


Peel and chop your potato and onion.


I hate the way the Corned Beef cans open. That little key thing they put on there is a pain in the butt! There have been many a time where I broke that stupid thing off, and had to try and open the can with a can opener. Geez! Anyhoo, Corned Beef isn’t very attractive in the can either. *shrugs* Get your can open somehow!


In a large skillet on medium heat, melt about a tablespoon of butter. Coat the bottom of the pan. Toss in all your ingredients. I did not measure the salt and pepper. But, I’m guessing it’s about a teaspoon or so. Just dash some in there, and if it needs more add some more. Your better off starting with less, because the Corned Beef is already salty. So you should start off small. I’m just used to knowing what exactly to throw in there.

Continue to cook on medium heat for about 20-25 minutes. I cook this uncovered and stirred it around occasionally. It is done once the potatoes are tender and can be broken with a fork. I like to let it get a nice crispiness to it.

And that’s it! Yummy Corned Beef Hash. Serve it up with eggs or just eat it by itself. I made JP a fried egg sammich to eat with his. Be sure to check back for my other recipes using Corned Beef.

Enjoy!

~Feather

8 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks delicious! I have never had corned beef hash and will have to try this out. By the way, there’s a great recipe for corned beef in last March’s issue of Bon Appetit. I made it for St. Patrick’s Day, and it was surprisingly easy and super yummy.

  2. BanginFood says:

    Thank you! I will go check that out!

  3. h8uall says:

    I just made this. I think I may die… from deliciousness overload. Seriously, I just wanted to eat a little bit and save the rest for later, but before I knew it I ate almost the whole thing. Great work!

  4. Bangin says:

    Oh wow! Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it!-Feather

  5. Anna says:

    LOOKS GOOD, IMA TRY IT RIGHT NOW!!!!!

  6. Laura Sharsmitt says:

    I’ve been making this for years and my mom made it for years!! Love it!!

  7. Alyx says:

    Hi,
    This recipe looks amazing! Do you know how well it freezes? I work nights so I tend to cook big batches and then freeze most of it so I was wondering if this would be viable?
    Alyx
    Xx

    1. banginfood says:

      I personally haven’t froze this particular recipe, but have put corn beef patties in the freezer. They kept very well. Sorry for the super late response.

Leave a Reply

