Recipe of The Day: Mochiko Chicken


Woo! Mochiko Chicken, another Hawaii favorite. This is another Japanese style fried chicken. It uses the light Japanese Mochiko Sweet Rice Flour. It has a nice delicate flavor and is very easy to prepare.

I know fried foods aren’t good for ya,but I’ve been itching to make this. I haven’t made it in a long time. Plus, I’ve never featured it on the site. Like I said, this is a popular local dish in Hawaii. You’ll find in a lot of bentos or plate lunch specials. Very simple to make and the longest part is just the marinating. So here we go…

Prep Time:20-30 minutes (Mostly Cutting stuff for marinade)
Marinade Time: 4hours-Overnight (Overnight is the best)
Cook Time: 20-30 minutes(depends on how much chicken you make)
Serving Size:4-6 people

Ingredients:
2-5 lbs boneless chicken thighs (or you can be like me and debone your own chicken)

1/4 cup Mochiko Sweet Rice Flour

1/4 cup Cornstarch (I did not have cornstarch. So, you can substitute 2 tablespoons flour for every tablespoon of cornstarch. If you don’t have any either)

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 Eggs

5 tablespoons Shoyu (Soy Sauce)

4-5 Cloves of Garlic

1/2 Cup of Green Onion

1/2 teaspoon Fresh grated Ginger

Sesame Seeds are optional


You want to start off by taking your chicken and cutting it into bite sized pieces. After I deboned all of my chicken, I took my kitchen shears and cut it up. I placed all of my pieces into a freezer storage bag. Next, in a mixing bowl. Combine all of your dry ingredients. Sift the Mochiko and Cornstarch into the bowl, and then add the sugar and salt. Mix well. In another small bowl, combine your egg, shoyu, garlic cloves, and ginger. Whisk lightly. Add into dry ingredients. You can also throw in the green onion. Mix well. It will be a little thick, batter like. If it’s to thick add a little bit of water.

Pour mixture into bag with chicken. You should have something that looks like this. I try and get all the air out of the bag, and then seal it up. You can try and squish it around so that the marinade will get all over the pieces. Then just toss it into the fridge for 4 hours or overnight. I suggest doing it overnight. It will be onolicious!


Okay, fill a large skillet with some oil. Not to much oil. Just enough so your pieces aren’t touching the bottom of the pan. They need to float. Heat the skillet on medium heat. Grab your chicken out the fridge. Once your oil is hot. Start taking the pieces out of the bag and dropping them directly into the oil. You can throw a whole bunch in at once. Then start breaking them up as they start to fry. Or you can drop them in one at a time. I like to throw a whole bunch in at a time. lol
It should look like this. We want them to get a nice golden brown. So let them brown on one side. Then start flipping them over to brown on the other side.


Once all of your pieces are brown, remove and drain on paper towels. I like to use this holey spatula thingy. lol I don’t know what that thing is called. LOL It’s good for getting a whole bunch of pieces out at once. Plus it takes all those little bits that can burn up.


And that’s it! Your done! Serve with hot rice and a veggie of your choice. I did green beans today. You can also make a sauce. I prefer them sauceless. JP mixed up some Ko Ju Chung to eat with his.



JP and I, are also trying to make Bentos. We want to cut our portions down and to try and eat healthier. I’ve been reading many Bento blogs, and the benefits of making and eating Bentos. So, here is my first attempt at it. I know Mochiko isn’t healthy, but we have to ease into it. LOL Here is here is my little packed Bento. Hope you enjoy!

~Feather

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Abby says:

    I would love a bite RIGHT NOW. That looks incredible – perfectly cooked. YUM.

  2. jiggins says:

    I just found your blog while eating @ L&L Hawaiian bbq. I decided to order their version of Mochicko Chicken. Ill let you know how it goes! I hope you post again soon!

  3. Bangin says:

    Oh cool! Thanks for checking us out!

Leave a Reply

