Recipe of The Day: Spicy Turkey Meatball Soup


Hi all! JP and I are on week 2 of eating healthy. It is like freezing cold today. But, everyday in winter here seems freezing cold to me! My island blood has not gotten used to the cold. I felt it was the perfect day for a homemade soup.

I started thinking about soup yesterday. We got a of bunch pretty Roma Tomatoes.I knew I wanted to use them for something. So I thought about soup. I went to grocery shopping the other day and did not see anything that looked good to me. I didn’t want to do just a tomato soup. It’s a little boring for me. I’m sure it would have been boring for JP too. We are people who love flavor and substance. I made a vegetable stock yesterday, not really knowing what I was going to do with it. I got up today, and decided I’d wing it and just add in stuff as I went along. So here is what I came up with…

I apologize for not having step by step pictures. I need to empty my camera. Sorry:(

Prep Time: 20-30 Minutes
Cook Time: 45-90 Minutes
Serving Size: A lot of people!

Ingredients:

2 Cups Vegetable Stock or Chicken Broth (I made my own vegetable stock the day before)
5 Large Roma Tomatoes
1 Large Yellow Onion
1 Can of Ro Tel Mild Tomatoes and Green Chililes
1 Cup of 2% Milk (or whatever % you use)
1 Chicken Bouillon Cube
2 Cups Butter Beans (or any bean of your choice)
2 Cups Chopped Cabbage
4 Cups of Water
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1 tsp dry bay leaves
1 tsp dry cilantro
1 tsp cayenne pepper

Seasonings and Ingredients for Ground Turkey Meatballs:
1 lb Ground Turkey
1 tablespoon Olive Oil for frying
1 tsp Chili Powder
1 tsp Poultry Season
1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper
1 tsp Salt
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 Large Egg
1/4 Cup Panko

First thing you want to do is chop up your tomatoes and onions. In a large pot, add in your vegetable stock and water. Throw in your tomatoes, onions, and Ro Tel. Add in all seasoning except Cayenne Pepper. Bring to a boil, and then let simmer on Medium Heat 20-30 minutes. Once tomatoes are soft almost mushy like, take an immersion blender (or remove from heat and place in a blender). Blend up ingredients in pot until they are smooth. After you get it nice and smooth add in your milk and beans. Cover pot with lid and continue to simmer on medium low heat.

While your pot is simmering, prepare Turkey Meatballs. In a bowl combine all ingredients into turkey except Olive Oil. Add your Olive Oil into a large skillet on medium heat. Roll out meatballs. Add to pan and fry until browned. When you have cooked meatballs remove from heat and transfer into soup pot.

Once you have your meatballs added, let pot simmer another 20 or 30 minutes. After 20 or 30 minutes, add in your cabbage. Continue to simmer until cabbage is tender.

That is it. This is a low calorie hearty meal perfect for a cold day. All the ingredients are fresh and taste great. You can kick up the spice or take it down a notch. You can adjust the flavors to your liking. You can also add some tortilla chips to accompany the soup. Rice would also be good. Even bread! Hope you enjoy!

~Feather

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Abby says:

    Soup is so easy to make and so hard to screw up, don’t you think? Of course it can be healthy OR laden with calories, but either way it’s the perfect winter meal.Of course it’s about 60 degrees here, today…

  2. Chef Cat says:

    I love soup… I think I can eat it all day everyday especially when it’s cold.

Leave a Reply

