Recipe of The Day: Shoyu Chicken


In the Islands, Soy Sauce is referred to as “shoyu”. So today I bring you Shoyu Chicken. This is insanely simple and delicious.

This dish requires little work. It also only uses 4 ingredients. I love this dish over a nice scoop of hot rice. It’s crazy to me how a lot of Asian inspired dishes use minimal ingredients, but boast so much flavor.

Prep Time: 10-15 minutes
Cook Time: 1 Hr 30 minutes (I like to let my simmer a while in the juice)
Serving Size: 4-6 People

Ingredients:
4-6 Pieces of Chicken (any kind you like)
1 cup Shoyu (Soy Sauce again any brand you like I use a Korean Brand)
1 cup white sugar (or brown)
4 stalks of Green Onion


You want to get a large pot. Place all of your chicken in the pot. Cover with water. Bring to a boil. Once boiling, bring down to medium high heat and let simmer for about 30 minutes. Or until chicken becomes tender.

Chop your green onion. Once your chicken is tender. Pour out all of the water. I like to leave a tiny bit in the bottom of the pot.
Add in your sugar.

Then add in your shoyu and green onion. Let simmer another 30 minutes uncovered.


After 30 minutes or so. Start to remove chicken from the pot. As you can see, the meat has already started falling off the bone. The meat should be really tender by now. So remove whatever meat is left on the bone. Discard bones. You can shred chicken up a bit with a fork. Place chicken back in pot.


You should have something that looks like this. You could be done with it at this point, but I like to let it simmer another 20-30 minutes on low heat just to soak up all that juice and flavor.


That’s it! Pour some of the juice over your chicken. This dish is perfect with rice. You can have it over the rice, or have it on the side. I made some mixed veggies to go with it. You can also add some more green onion as garnish. Go ahead Kau kau (eat)! Enjoy!
~Feather

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    I made this yesterday and it is sooo good and very easy to make. Thanks for posting this and all your other recipes!!!–Wendy

  2. BanginFood says:

    Glad you enjoyed it! I love that dish over rice. Yum yum!

  3. RL Maiden says:

    My mom (my uncle, too) always used a couple of crushed cloves of garlic and a piece of peeled ginger. I think your method of deboning and shredding the chicken is interesting–I’ll try it!

  4. Bangin says:

    Thanks, I’ll have to try the ginger and garlic. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

