Recipe of The Day: Faux Philly Cheese Steak


Well, looks like my puter wants to cooperate a little. So here is a post for ya.

For this weeks posts, I plan on featuring a few healthy dishes I came up with for JP and I. We are still maintaining a healthy eating diet. I decided today, that I would cook a weeks worth of food for the both of us. It makes it a lot easier for me. I broke everything down into individual servings and froze them. So that way we can just pull something out and heat it up. Easy enough. The kids aren’t being subjected to this way of eating…yet! lol

Today we had, what I like to call “Faux Philly Cheese Steak.” The easiest thing for us to eat healthy, is to have things that we still like, but with half the calories. I went to Earth Fare last week and picked a few things up. I saw these Smart Strip Steak Styles Strips.

They looked good to me! The picture had me sold! It looked just like meat. These strips have 14 grams of protein and no fat. The whole box is just 2 servings, which only total 160 calories! We didn’t even eat the whole box for our sandwhiches either. My apologies for no step by step pictures. I cooked so much food today, that just would have been a lot of work.

So here is my recipe…

Prep Time: 10-15 Minutes
Cook Time: 10-15 Minutes
Serving Size: 2-4 People

Ingredients:
1 Package Lightlife Smart Strips Steak Style Strips Seasoned Veggie Strips
1 Large Green Bell Pepper
1 Large Jalapeno (You can used can or jar varieties)
1 Pepperidge Farm Classic Whole Wheat Hoagie
1 Laughing Cow Garlic Herb Cheese Wedge( or any variety of cheese JP used Cheddar)
1/2 Medium White Onion
1 Serving of Hellmans Olive Oil Mayonnaise (or any other variety)
salt and pepper to taste
1 teaspoon Canola Oil for Cooking

In a large pan on Medium Heat. Add in your oil. Then add in your Jalapeno, Onion and Bell Pepper. Saute until vegetables start getting a little tender. Add in your Smart Strips. Sprinkle a bit of salt and pepper. Saute for 3-5 minutes. Remove from heat and assemble sandwich!

I must say, this was an excellent dupe for a Philly Cheese Steak. Wow! The texture of these strips is just like meat. JP enjoyed it, as did I. I can’t believe how low cal this meal was. I almost felt like I was cheating. LOL

Another “faux meat” product we tried was White Wave’s Chicken Style Seitan. Seitan is a fake meat product made from Wheat Gluten. I made this BBQ style. I simply sauteed it in a large pan with some onions until it browned a bit. Then poured some regular BBQ sauce over it and baked it for about 30 minutes. I think the overall taste was good. The texture wasn’t quit like a meat texture. I want to say it was like a McRib texture. LOL Remember those? JP wasn’t fond of the texture by itself. I ate it with some Quinoa and Veggies. The next day I threw it on a Whole Wheat Hoagie roll with Olive Oil Mayo and it was even better! JP thought it was good on the bread too. So we’ll just keep experimenting with this product.

Don’t worry friends, we haven’t gone totally Vegan. Just trying out new things. Seeing what we like and what we dislike. We are trying to transition to healthier eating. I will still bang out the classics for the kiddos. Tonight I made them stuffed shells. Lucky! But, we’ll see how it goes. We’ll still have our cheat days, so you know those will be good. Because after all, we are Banginfood. We like food with a bang! Ha! That’s all for now. Ciao!

~Feather

Leave a Reply

