Recipe of The Day: Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Quinoa


Here is healthy meal #2. Stuffed Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts. I will be honest and say that I’m not fond of white meat whatsoever. But, in an effort to further our healthy eating habits. I decided to try and like it. I figured stuffed would be the way to go, so I could distract myself from the chicken breast itself. lol I paired this meal with Quinoa.

What is Quinoa you ask? Quinoa is not technically a grain, but it can be substituted for grains. It’s actually a seed of a leafy plant. It’s high in protein and is supposed to be one of the most balanced for vitamins and nutrients. Quinoa dates all the way back to the days of the Inca. I dig it. Anyhoo…on to the recipe.

Prep Time: 15-20 Minutes
Cook Time: 25-30 Minutes
Serving Size: 4 People

Ingredients:
1 Package Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
1 1/2 cup of Spinach (frozen or fresh whatever your prefer)
1 1/2 cup Baby Bella Mushrooms
4 Cloves of Garlic
4 Stalks of Green Onion
1 tablespoon Canola Oil
Paprika, Salt and Pepper
1 tablespoon Chavrie Garlic Herb Goat Cheese
Toothpicks (or anything to secure chicken once rolled)

In a large pan on medium heat, you’ll also want to pre heat your oven to 350 degrees. Saute your onion, garlic, mushrooms and spinach. You can lightly season with salt and pepper. Saute until nice and tender. Set aside. For the chicken, I took two large Chicken breasts and cut them in half. I used the other two pieces of breast for another recipe I’ll feature this week.

Take one piece of the chicken and place it between a sheet of wax paper. Or you can use a ziplock bag. Using a kitchen mallet, or whatever else you use to beat your meat.(hee hee beat your meat) Beat the heck out of it. Not to thin, but thin enough. Give the chicken breast a light coat of seasonings.

Now get your spinach mixture. Depending on how big or small your chicken pieces are, place a nice dollop on the chicken. After the spinach, place a dollop of Goat Cheese on top of that. I didn’t have much left. So each piece got about a teaspoon or so. You can most certainly use more than that.

I had some toothpicks soaking in a bowl of water. I wasn’t sure if they would burn up. lol Carefully roll your chicken pieces and secure with toothpicks. It took about 4 toothpicks per piece for mine. Place in a shallow baking dish. Place in oven and bake for 25-30 minutes. Until chicken is done. You could cover them to ensure more juiciness. I baked them uncovered. There was a little bit of juice in the pan, which I basted them with.

Overall, I think I enjoyed the flavor of the whole dish. Next time I’m thinking about maybe putting some fresh tomato and onion over it, or maybe some salsa! I think it was pretty good. You can experiment with this one. I really liked the mushroom and spinach combination. Stay tuned for meal #3. Enjoy!

~Feather

Leave a Reply

