Recipe of The Day: Ginger Chicken


Healthy Meal #4. It should be #5, but I ate Turkey Chili yesterday. I thought I posted my Turkey Chili recipe. But, now that I’m thinking. I don’t think I did. Ooops! I’ll post that recipe soon.

This dish is normally made with pork. Which I’ve also made too. Not sure I posted that one either. Gosh I’m going senile. Anyways! I felt it was much healthier using chicken. This meal is another easy one. It takes no time to cook or prepare. The only thing you really wait on, it the marinating time. It goes well with rice. I was thinking about putting some on some fried noodles. I may try that one day. I also have my meal in a cute little Bento. I’ll talk more about that after I give you the recipe part. Also, this batch was really small. So if your going to make a larger batch just double the amounts. Okay, so here we go…

Prep Time: 1hr 20 minutes
Cook Time: 15-20 minutes
Serving Size: 1 or 2 People (I made a small batch)

Ingredients:
1 cup Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
2 Tablespoons Soy Sauce
2 Tablespoons Mirin
2 Cloves of Garlic
1 Tablespoon Sesame Seed Oil
2 Tablespoon Fresh Ginger

You want to first chop all of your chicken breast into bite sized pieces. Finely chop your Ginger and Garlic. In a Ziplock bag or tight sealed container, add in all of your ingredients. Let marinate for 1 hour. Do not exceed one hour. In a large skillet over medium heat. Empty contents into pan. Fry until meat is thoroughly cooked. I like it to get slightly crispy on the outside. That’s it. Really really simple.

The chicken may not look very flavorful, but it really is. It has a lot of flavor. Very good over rice.

So now let me talk about my cute little bento and bento bag. My family loves me. They send me little kitchen goodies. Because they know I love it. Also, I have a super huge sick addiction to Hello Kitty. Ask JP. It’s really sickening. LOL So they feed that addiction too.

My Mom was out in a huge Asian market a couple of months ago. She knew I was looking for Bento boxes. She actually found a few and sent me one! She sent me a smaller one a while ago. Which is cute too.

I couldn’t get the lid all the way down, because of the rice. Oops.

If you lift up the lid, there is a little compartment for a spoon. It came with a spoon, but for some reason I don’t know where it is. *shrugs*

Under that is a smaller area, you could probably use for sauces or smaller pieces of food.


Then of course you have your larger compartment for your bigger items. Isn’t that cool?

And here is my cute little bento bag. My brother sent me this for Christmas last year. Awww! Kawaii!

So that’s my recipe. I guess I’ll have to feature Healthy Meal #5 sometime soon. This week worked out well for us. Saved a lot of time. The meals were good and filling. I enjoyed all of the meals as did JP. These will definitely be on my permanent menu. Hope you enjoyed!

~Feather

Leave a Reply

