Recipe of The Day: Homemade Turkey Helper Revisited


I have previously posted this recipe before, but I never had a picture. I decided to make this again for the kids. They seem to really like it. They almost believe that it’s actually Hamburger Helper. LOL

This recipe is great, because you can adjust the seasonings to your taste. It’s quick and it’s easy. That seems to be my thing with cooking. It has to be quick. I’m so busy during the week. I just need to bang things out quickly. If I’m in a Top Chef mood I’ll get a little bit more elaborate. My kids love casseroles and all things cheesy. So they really dig this one. I won’t be having any, because I’m still on the weight loss plan. To date, JP and I have lost over 35 lbs combined! Woo hoo! I have 7 lbs to go, I think he has 5. Probably gonna whip up some fish tacos for us this evening. Another recipe I’ve featured, and again no pics. Might take some today. Anyways enjoy the recipe!

You can check the original post you want. I posted the Turkey Helper and Shredded Chicken for tacos on this post. Click here for previous post.

Turkey Helper
1 package ground Turkey
1 box mac n cheese (any brand)
1 cup cheddar cheese and mozzarella cheese (add more if you I like I used cubed cheese)
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
salt to taste
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic salt
dash of Tony Chachere’s

***Side Note**** Today I used Adobo season in place of Tony’s, which was equally great. I also chopped up some Sharp Cheddar into cubes. I also added in 1/2 cup of milk and a tablespoon of butter. You can really experiment with this.

Brown turkey in pan and add in about half of the seasonings. I really do this buy eye, and just dash a good helping all over it. I did this in a non stick pan, so I didn’t add in any oil or butter. Cook Macaroni according to box. When done drain and add to turkey. Add the rest of the ingredients on the Macaroni box. Add in the rest of seasonings and cheese. Mix well and simmer on low for a few minutes. That’s it your done. I made some Garlic Parmesan Bread to go on the side with some veggies. Everybody seemed to like it!

~Feather

Leave a Reply

