Chun Wah KamNoodle Factory Kapolei

on


I’m slacking on the post. JP and I have been super focused on this working out thing. We’ve gone from being focused on losing fat, to building muscle. It really takes a lot of effort. So I’m going to try my best to get this Hawaii foods thing done. It’s just so much to cover. lol

On my list of things to eat while in Hawaii was Manapua and Pork Hash. I’m sure everyone who is not from Hawaii have no idea of what I’m talking about. Manapua is a steamed or baked soft bun filled with a meat or beans. Mostly Chinese style pork called Cha Sui. I myself prefer the baked kind, not a huge fan of the steamed. They are okay. Pork Hash is a minced pork with a dumpling type wrapper on the outside that is steamed. That’s the best way I can explain it.

One of my Uncles told me about Chun Wah Kam in Kapolei. Before I left Hawaii these chains weren’t around. I decided to give it a try. Once again, for JP’s first experience with these foods this probably wasn’t the best place. But, oh well that’s where we went. First of all! This place was packed. So right off I assumed it should be pretty good, just because of that. You had to take a dang on number just to place your order! There were so many people in there. The location was pretty large. They had a little glass case with baked goods. I saw the different varieties of mananpua they had. They even had rice cakes.

Then you can see where they had a buffet of other different types of foods. I didn’t really look at the food on the buffet. I wasn’t there for that. lol You can see where you have to take a number. It did look like there was a lot of food to choose from. After standing around for like 2o minutes. My number was finally called! I ordered a combination box of Manapua and Pork Hash. I believe the total cost was about $15 and some change.


This is the box they threw it in. It has the different locations on it. We were at the Kapolei location.

We got 5 or 6 Baked Manapua and a few Pork Hash. I can’t remember the exact number. It was a decent amount.


And there it is! There was a decent amount of meat in there. I was surprised. The outside of the bun was a bit sticky. The flavor was pretty good. The bun was slightly sweet and tasted good with the pork filling. I thought the overall taste was pretty good. The Pork Hash were a good size too. The flavor was good as well. I could have eaten up all the Pork Hash myself. lol But I had to share. JP enjoyed them both. He said it was different, but good. Ha ha.

There are other places on the island that many people probably prefer. This was my first experience with this place, and I can say that it was pretty good. They do have a website if you want to check them out. They have a few locations all over the island. Even if you don’t go for Manapua they have other things to try.

Chun Wah Kam Noodle Factory

Again, I am so sorry for the lack of post. I will try my best to finish this series up. I’ve got some new healthy recipes I need to post too.

~Feather

Leave a Reply

