Amish Friendship Bread

on


I’m diverting from my Hawaii post, just to let ya’ll know about something I just made. 10 days ago my neighbor Debbie gave me a starter for a Amish Friendship Bread. She explained to me how it worked, and I thought it was pretty cool. So I gave it a try.

Someone starts a batch of the batter and makes starters for their friends and passes it along with instructions. Then those people make their own loaves and starters, and passes those to other friends. It just keeps going and going. Once you receive the starter it takes 10 days for the whole entire process. The mixture pretty much just sits and ferments I guess for those 10 days. Then on the 10th day it’s ready to bake. It does sound a bit crazy, and the smell of the batter would really put you off. lol But, really it turned out really good! The bread is really delicious! You can make so many variations with it too. I will try out another flavor on my next batch. My kids enjoyed it also. They were a bit apprehensive as well. lol But enjoyed it after they tasted it. I will be handing out starters to people hoping they will make some bread. I’m glad my neighbor showed me this recipe. Something I’ll be adding to my recipe box.


Here it is up close. This is some I gave to the kids. It’s really moist. I think it would taste good with tea or coffee.

I wrapped up a loaf to take to my daughter’s Mother’s Day Tea Party tomorrow. Then I changed my mind and sliced it up and made individual little gifts for the teachers. Anyway, if you ever get a chance to make this bread I would definitely give it a try. I will post the recipe below. I’ve looked up the recipe online, and there are so many different versions. I’ll put up the one that my neighbor gave me. This was very simple to do and really takes no work at all. Enjoy!

Amish Friendship Bread

*Do not use a metal spoon or bowl for mixing.
*Do not refrigerate mixture.
*if air gets in the bag, let it out. It is normal for the batter to thicken, bubble and ferment.

Day 1: This is the day you receive the batter. Do nothing.

Day 2-5: On each of these days, all you need to do is let the trapped air out. Nothing else.

Day6: Add 1 cup of plain flour, 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of milk. Squeeze the mix.

Day 7-9: On each of these day, all you need to do is let the trapped air out. Nothing else.

Day 10: Combine in a large bowl: the batter along with 1 cup plain flour, 1 cup of sugar, and 1 cup of milk. Mix with a wooden spoon. Pour 4 1 cup starters into separate ziplock bags (use the gallon sized bags). Keep one starter for yourself and give the other 3 starters to your friends along with the instructions. Starters may also be frozen on this day for later use (will keep for six months).

To the remaining batter in the bowl add:
1 cup cooking oil
1 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
3 large eggs
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
2 cups plain flour
1/2 cup milk
1/2 tsp. baking soda
2 small boxes instant vanilla pudding mix
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

Prepare 2 large loaf pans by spraying with Pam (or other cooking spray. I wiped the loaf pans with canola oil on a paper towel). Then coat the pans well with cinnamon and sugar. You can mix your own or use a prepared mixture. Pour batter into pans. You sprinkle additional cinnamon and sugar on top of batter. Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour or until done. Bread freezes well.

Optional: Add 1 cup of chopped nuts and or 1/2 cup of raisins to the batter before baking.

Other flavors to try:
Chocolate: Omit cinnamon in the recipe. Substitute with chocolate pudding mix for the vanilla. Chocolate chips and/or nuts may be added.
Lemon: Omit cinnamon in recipe. Substitute lemon pudding mix for the vanilla. Lemon extract may also be used as a substitute for vanilla extract.
Cheesecake:Keep vanilla and cinnamon, but use cheesecake instant pudding mix instead of vanilla.

That’s it!

~Feather

Leave a Reply

