Recipe of The Day: Whole Wheat/Oat Blueberry Muffins


In an attempt to create more healthy recipes. I tried my hand at some Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins.

I found some Whole Wheat Flour today at Wal Mart. After purchasing the flour, I was walking around the house trying to figure out what I could do with it. Pancakes came to mind. The box even had a pizza dough recipe that looked good. I searched the net for ideas. I finally decided to try and make muffins. I found a simple recipe on Sparkpeople. I tweaked it a bit. I will say these are semi healthy, because I had to use real sugar. I didn’t have enough Splenda. I also had to use Canola Oil instead of applesauce. Both of these things can be substituted to make an even more healthier version.

Prep Time: 15-20 Minutes
Cook Time: 20-25 Minutes
Serving Size: Makes 18 Muffins

Ingredients:

1 cup Oats (I used plain quick oats)
1 cup Frozen Blueberries
1 cup 2% Milk (or a lower percentage)
1/2 cup Pure Canola Oil (or applesauce)
1 large egg
1 cup sugar (or sugar substitute)
1 tbsp Lemon Juice
2 cups Hodgson Mill Whole Wheat Graham Flour
1 tbsp Vanilla extract
1/2 tbsp Ground Cinnamon
3/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tbsp baking powder
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix milk, blueberries, and oats in a separate bowl and set aside. In another large bowl mix the rest of the ingredients. Add in oats, milk, and blueberries. Mix until it is well combined. I used 1 regular metal 6 cup pan and 1 12 cup silicone baking pan. If you are using a metal pan spray with a cooking spray. I used an Olive Oil cooking spray. Fill pans. Do not fill to the top, about 3/4 of the way. Place in oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove muffins and let cool.

That’s it. This recipe was extremely simple. The muffins taste really good too. The kids loved them! I can barely tell they were made with wheat flour or oats. I will try these again with the other healthier ingredients. Enjoy!

~Feather

One Comment Add yours

  1. Abby says:

    I tried this once and it was a failure. The texture of your muffins looks much better than mine!

Leave a comment