Quick Food Review


First of all let me tell you that eating healthy is really hard! Especially when you are someone who loves to eat and cook! Since February, JP and I have really been focused. People like us really need tons of variety in our diets. So, I have been trying out many different healthy alternatives in order to stay on track.

Lately I have been finding myself at Kroger’s organic food section. I it find to be a lot cheaper than going to Earth Fare or some other specialty health food store. I had know idea they even had a organic/health food section. It’s not a huge variety, but they have a decent selection. They best thing is they always seem to have things on sale. Which is great for me, because other specialty stores like Earth Fare can be costly. I wanted to review three items that I have tried over the last few weeks. Some organic baked cheese curls, organic whole wheat tortillas, and flour less sprouted bread.


Okay, so chips aren’t exactly the most healthiest thing to have. But, if you are going to have some you might as well try and get something that won’t hurt you to much. There are a ton of organic and low fat chip varieties. Like I said I have already tried a few. On my last visit to the store I spotted these. Michael Seasons Reduced Fat Baked Cheese Curls. They are are also Chili Pepper Flavored. Well right off that appealed to me, and I knew it would appeal to JP. Cheese and Spice! These are organic, no preservatives, wheat free, gluten free, low cal and low fat.

They are 130 calories per 1 cup. Which is actually a decent amount. I would probably say the equivalent to a small snack bag of chips. Now let me tell you something! The flavor says Chili Pepper, and they mean it! OMG! (ha ha using internet lingo) These things are sooo good! I’m serious if you like flaming hot Cheetos, these would be a great alternative. Probably a lot more cheesier than Flaming Hot Cheetos. But they are cheesy with a kick to it. Not just a slight kick, but a nice I need to drink some water kick. I got two bags for $4 which was an okay deal. I got one bag for JP to take to work and one for myself. JP had already finished his bag before the week was over. lol I still have about half of mine left. JP told me he threw a few them on his chicken wrap and it really kicked it up a notch. Overall I like the flavor of these. It is pretty spicy, but it does have a nice balance with the cheese. So if you can I would highly recommend these.


The second thing I would like to review is Food For Life’s 7 Sprouted Grains bread. Food For Life makes tons of products and one of their popular items is the Ezekiel 4:9 bread. All of their products are Organic. They have things such as tortillas, English Muffins, Raisin Bread, and other types of breads. Over the last couple of months I have been eating their 7 Sprouted Grains bread. It is a flour less bread. Therefore it will go bad quickly. So you have to keep it refrigerated or frozen. This bread is a bit pricey at $3.99 per loaf. But it is absolutely awesome if you can get some!

At just 80 calories per slice and only 5 grams of fat this bread is some good stuff. It’s packed with vitamins. I personally love it. It’s the only bread I eat as of right now. It taste like a really good wheat bread. What’s crazy is, it’s not made with any flour! I have toasted it and ate it with Peanut Butter. Made Turkey sammiches and have not been disappointed yet. JP has also agreed that this bread is fantastic. So if you are looking for a good wheat bread I highly suggest trying this one or any of their other products.

The last thing I will review are Garden of Eatin’s Whole Wheat Organic Tortillas. I am already a fan of their Greek Isle Pita Chips. Those are sooo good! So I decided to give these a try. You get 6 tortillas for $1.99 at Kroger. Not sure what they cost elsewhere. I was getting tired of those Low Carb Tortillas. Not even sure how anyone could call that tortilla. Those things are awful. As much as JP and I love burritos I need something that is going to be a little bit more tortilla like. This is another item that needs to be kept frozen or refrigerated. A lot of this Organic stuff goes bad quickly.

These are 110 calories per tortilla. Which isn’t to bad. The carbs a bit high than I would like, but it’s still better than eating a regular tortilla. These I must say are actually good. Waaaay better than those low carb things. They actually taste like a tortilla. The wheat taste isn’t overpowering and the texture is good. I have made grilled chicken wraps with these and they were awesome. I heated them in pan with a bit of Olive Spray and they tasted great. Again, this would be another product I would suggest if you are looking for a tortilla alternative.

So that concludes my food reviews. I would also like to add that I am a very budget conscience person. I only spend about $200 a month for a family of 5 on groceries. So I really try to get things that will not break my wallet. I will have links to these food items. You can check your local grocery or health food store. If you have any questions or want to suggest some things for us to try shoot us an email. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Michael Seasons Baked Cheese Curls

Food For Life 7 Sprouted Grains Bread

Garden of Eatin Organic Whole Wheat Tortilla

Leave a Reply

