Recipe of The Day: Pork Broccoli Stir Fry


I had no idea what I would cook the kids for dinner tonight. I made them BBQ meatballs last night. They told me they were the best meatballs ever! They had fried chicken on Monday.

Scanned the freezer and saw pork steaks. I grabbed them still not knowing what I was going to do. Didn’t feel like grilling. Pan fry? That would be boring. I finally had an idea! Stir fry! Yay! This was going to be easy and quick. I could certainly whip this up in no time. Tomorrow will be the kids first day of school. So, there is much to do. I was pressed for time. I didn’t follow any recipe. Just threw some things together. You could use any meat you want. I chose pork. Chicken and beef would work great too. I will get back to doing step by step pictures when I have more time.

Prep Time: 10-15 minutes
Cook Time: 15-20 minutes
Servings: 4-5 people

Ingredients:

1 or 2 pork steaks chopped (can substitute with chicken or beef)
1 teaspoon ginger finely chopped
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon oyster sauce
3 teaspoons sugar
flour for dredging
salt and pepper
oil for frying
1 1/2 cups frozen or fresh broccoli

Lightly season meat with salt and pepper after it is chopped. Then lightly dredge in flour. You do not want it heavily coated. Heat a large skillet or wok on medium-high heat. Toss meat in the pan. Start to brown meat. When meat is lightly browned you can add in your ginger. Keeping stirring around in pan. Keep it moving! After a few minutes add in your Oyster Sauce. Then soy sauce. Keep stirring. You can also add in your broccoli. Keep on stirring! Finally add in your sugar. Make sure everything gets coated well. It might get a little sticky. So just kind of scrape the bottom of your pan with your spatula, and keep it moving. Once everything is nice and browned and mixed you can remove from heat.

As always we had a fresh pot of hot rice. I served it to the kids like this.

I tried to show them how to use chopsticks. They actually did pretty well. Considering they never really used them before. For some reason they kept calling the meat chicken. lol My son kept asking for more chicken. He would have eaten the whole pan if I let him. He’s only 6! I’m scared to see what 16 is going to be like! I told him everyone in the house has to eat too. He asked me to cook some more. I said, “Do I look like a restaurant?” He replied, “Yes!” Kids I tell ya.

Hope you enjoy!

~Feather

One Comment Add yours

  1. Abby says:

    I love stir fry – any kind! Pork is probably my favorite, though.

Leave a Reply

