Recipe of The Day: Grilled Flat Iron Steak


I am a person who enjoys a good steak, and sometimes I can’t afford to get a good steak. This is a relatively cheap and easy way to get your steak fix.

I have only recently become familiar with Flat Iron Steak. We all know that steak can be very expensive and usually not something you eat often. I recently found some on sale at my local grocery store. I was willing to try something new so I grabbed some. I called my Mother for some suggestions on how to prepare this cut of meat. She suggested a marinade. But I wanted to try something instead of a marinade. So, I just went for more of a rub kind of thing. The results were very tasty! So now every time I see this cut of meat on sale I scoop it up. My kids love this steak and we never have leftovers every time I make it. So here we go…

Prep-Time: 5 minutes to season a few hours to chill in the fridge
Cook Time: 30-40 minutes (or longer depending how well you like your steak)
Serving Size: 4-6 people

Ingredients:
1 flat iron steak
garlic salt
ground black pepper
McCormick Mesquite Grill Mates

The first thing you want to do is generously season your steak like so. Cover that bad boy on both sides!

Then you want to either place the steak in a zip lock bag or do like I did and wrap well in saran wrap. I ran out of bags. Place the meat in the fridge and let it chill for a few hours. 1 hour minimum. You want to let those seasonings really sink in.

Okay, once your meat is done chilling. You want to prepare your grill for cooking. I let my meat chill for about 5 hours. I am using a gas grill, because that’s what I own. I know some people don’t like them, but that’s what I’m working with. I preheat and clean my grill before cooking. I let the grill get up to about 400 degrees. I keep the burners set to high during the preheating.

When the grill is ready, I turn the burners down to low. Then you can throw your meat on. I let it cook for about 5-10 minutes, and then I turn. Then I wait another 10 minutes and turn again. I do this about 3 or 4 times, pretty much do this until the steak looks done. If you like your steak more well done then leave it on longer. I like my meat almost pink and juicy. Also, if you take it off and it is not done enough you can throw it under the broiler to get it how you want it.

Once you are done grilling. Remove steak from heat and plate. Do NOT, I repeat…DO NOT cut! You need to let the steak rest for about 10 minutes. Once you have given steak the proper time to rest, you can proceed with the cutting.

You should now have a well rested flavorful juicy piece of meat. You can now begin cutting. You want to cut this steak very thin and at a diagonal. A sharp knife will be very useful.

Once you have finished cutting the whole steak you can plate and serve. You will love the tenderness of this cut of meat. Who says you can’t have good cheap steak? I am thinking about using this for burritos one day. Fajitas would be good too! Enjoy!

~Feather

3 Comments Add yours

  1. AreAych says:

    looks delicious! I am a huge fan of food photography!

    Love to hear what you think about my photography blog!
    http://www.freshvisuals.blogspot.com

  2. Abby says:

    It looks great. I see a lot of chefs use flat irons on TV so I’d say you made a good choice!

  3. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

