Bison Burgers


Hi all! It’s been a long time. JP and I, continue on our healthy eating journey. Last night we had bison burgers with turkey bacon Brussels sprouts. Yum yum!

We have definitely been trying to incorporate healthier meats into our diet. Organic vegetable fed animals, no hormones, steroids, and all that jazz. I have been so blessed to be able to find these meats for decent prices at my local grocery store. Let’s face it, it’s a lot cheaper to get food off of a dollar menu. Organic foods just cost more. Which is just insane in my opinion.

This last grocery trip I decided to get some ground bison. I’ve had it in the past and really enjoyed it. But, at 5.99 for 1lb of meat it’s not something I can get all the time.

If you can afford to get it, I highly suggest you try it. Bison is a very lean meat. The one I purchased was 90/10. It’s a very good source of protein and it tastes just like ground beef. You can use bison in place of ground beef in any dish. This Bison was 200 calories per 4 ounces, which isn’t to bad. Also, Bison takes less time to cook than ground beef. I decided on bison burgers. So here we go…

Ingredients:

1 package ground bison
Mediterranean sea salt and ground black pepper
1 egg
Arnold Sandwich Thins
Any Mixed Greens
Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb Wedges

Place ground bison in a large mixing bowl. Sprinkle a good helping of sea salt and pepper on your meat. Crack one egg over meat and mix well with your hand or a spoon. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Form bison into patties with your hand. Or if you own one of those fancy burger shapers use that! I was able to make four decent size patties. Cook patties in your pan until done. Juices should run clear. Or you can use a kitchen thermometer to check the internal temperature. 160 degrees is a temperature. I made mine well done.

You can assemble your burgers anyway you like. I personally like using the sandwich thins, because they are only 100 calories. I place my burger on the sandwich thin, top with one wedge of laughing cow cheese and mixed greens. You may certainly add any garnishments you want. This combo works for me, because it’s still pretty low calorie. JP wrapped his in mixed greens and topped his burger with one wedge of laughing cow cheese. We enjoyed these with a side of turkey bacon Brussels. Sweet potato fries is another great and healthy side idea. I have a recipe for those too!

Hope you enjoy! Stay tuned for more upcoming healthy recipes.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. GiGi says:

    You should try and find GRASS-FED & GRASS-FINISHED Bison… or really any red meat for that matter because it is by far healthier for you than grain fed red meats!

  2. Bangin says:

    Thanks Gigi for the comment. I haven’t seen grass finished bison. I’ll have to look for that.

Leave a Reply

