Sunday Dinner!


We haven’t had a bangin Sunday dinner in a looong time! I felt the need to give my family something good today.

I felt my family deserved a well cooked feast. I asked JP earlier in the day what were some of the things his Grandma used to make on Sundays. My Grandma used to cook us up some good things. Actually, most of the people on my side of the family have always cooked up some good eats. JP told me that his Grandma used to make Pot roast, macaroni and cheese, collards, and rice. It sounded great! So, I decided to make my own version. So here is what we had! Yum yum!

Pot roast cooked down in red wine and a beef consomme. I sauted some onions first in a tiny bit of olive oil. Then browned the meat. I seasoned the meat with a little bit of sea salt, pepper, and garlic salt. I threw everything in a dutch oven and cooked for several hours. It was nice and tender! Very flavorful as well!

I also cooked up some fresh string beans. I fried a few pieces of bacon. Chopped it up and threw it in a pot with the beans and a whole medium onion. Added a bit of salt and pepper for a little more seasoning.I cooked them down until they were very tender.

And for the star of the show! If you are on a diet, or are slightly afraid of gaining a few pounds, then this is definitely not the mac for you! LOL My three cheese macaroni. There is about, half block of velveeta cheese, sharp cheddar, mozzerella, egg, butter, and a bit of milk. Baked to a godlen bubbly perfection. It was sooo good, I could feel the inches adding onto my waist!

To round things off, we had some cornbread(Jiffy, wasn’t in the mood for going all the way homemade!) and some rice. I love the sounds of “Mmmmm” at the dinner table. We all enjoyed the dinner and ate waaay more than we should have. I hope your Sunday dinners are as pleasureable as ours!

Enjoy!
Feather

Leave a Reply

