Vegetarian Bean Stew

Image

This will be my first vegetarian post! Yay! Temperatures here have dropped to record lows! It was about 8 degrees this morning! Yikes! Thanks Polar Vortex! While temperatures started plummeting yesterday evening, I felt it was suiting to make some kind of soup or stew! This was totally improvised and I basically pulled all the ingredients together as I was in the grocery store. If you are not a vegetarian, the meat substitute can be replaced with real Polish Sausage. On to the recipe!

Things you will need:

1 can low sodium kidney beans

1 can red beans

1 can fire roasted tomatoes

3-4 fresh carrots

2 stalks of celery

1 package Tofurkey Polish Sausage

1 whole yellow onion

3 large white potatoes

about 1 cup of corn (frozen or fresh)

1 large container of organic vegetable broth (organic isn’t necessary)

Olive Oil to saute vegetables

Seasonings of your choice.

I used:

Cumin

A dash of Tony Chachere’s

Jane’s Krazy Mixed-Up Salt

Garlic Salt

Pepper

Paprika

Prep all vegetables. Chop carrots, celery, and onion.  All of the ingredients will go into a large pot. I have a large soup pot. Add about a tablespoon or so of Olive Oil to the pot. Throw in your carrots, celery, and onion. Also known in French terms as a Mirepoix! Hee hee! Saute vegetables until soft. I chopped all of the “sausage” and then added it to the pot. Continue sauteing. While this was browning up a bit, I peeled and chopped my potatoes. After the “meat” is a bit browned, add in your tomatoes, beans, and vegetable broth. Then add in your taters. Let the ingredients come to a boil. Then cover the pot and turn the heat down to about medium. I let this cook for about 45 minutes or so. I then added in my seasonings. This batch yields a large amount of stew, so I add the seasoning to taste. You can adjust it to your liking. I let this simmer on the stove covered for a couple of hours. Make sure your potatoes are soft.

This is more than enough for four or more people. I also made some cornbread to eat on the side. I also froze half of this batch for a later time. Enjoy and stay warm!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ani says:

    That looks great, especially with my fav side dish – cornbread!

Leave a Reply

