Vegetable Curry and Japanese Treats!

Image

Today I received two awesome packages from my Mom and brother. Both were filled with Japanese treats that I love! Pictured above, my Mom sent me some S&B Curry, Japanese Rice Crackers, and Japanese Brown Rice. So for tonight’s dinner I made vegetable curry. I looooove curry! I love Japanese, Indian, Jamaican, you name it! I just love curry in general! I will post the recipe for tonight’s dinner below. It’s very easy. S&B Curry isn’t hard to find either. I can find it at my local Walmart or any Asian market. You can add meat if that’s your thing.

Image

This is the brown rice she sent me. It may seem like regular brown rice to you, but it’s not. Unlike any other brown rice you cook on the stove, which takes forever and a day to cook. This brown rice can be cooked in your rice pot! Yess! Which basically cuts the cooking time in half. Following the directions on the package, my rice came out perfect! I had this with my curry!

Image

My brother sent me this Japanese Taro Mochi. I’ve never had Taro Mochi before. The only Taro I’ve really eaten, is Hawaiian Poi (a fermented taro paste).  If you don’t know what Mochi is, it is a glutinous rice that is pounded and shaped into little balls.They are filled with all kinds of things. They can be filled with red bean paste and Taro! I was ready to give it a try!

Image

Cool packaging.

Image

This is how it looks inside. You get six nice sized pieces of Mochi.

Image

This is how it looks individually.

Image

I must say that these were absolutely delicious! The outside texture of Mochi is a bit chewy and soft. So if textural things bother you, you may not like these. The Taro inside had a nice subtle sweetness. It almost reminded me of some kind of graham cookie, in a weird way. But I loved the taste.It’s going to be hard not to eat the whole box! LOL I love how the sweetness wasn’t overpowering and was just the right balance. The taro melted in my mouth too. Yum! I suggest you go out and get you some! I would like to thank my family for hooking a sister up! I always love when I get goodies in the mail!

And as promised here is the super duper easy recipe for my Vegetable Curry:

This recipe made enough for at least 4 people

1 package of S&B Curry

2 fresh carrots

1 stalk of celery

2 white potatoes

half of a yellow onion

1 tablespoon of butter

1 pot of fresh rice (brown or white)

Prep all of your vegetables. I just peeled and diced everything. In a large pot, heat your butter. Add in all your veggies, except for the taters. Saute vegetables until slightly soft. You will then add in about 2 cups of water and your potatoes. Let simmer for about 20 minutes, or until taters are soft. Thrown in your curry block. Break up the squares, and stir until it dissolves. Cover the pot and turn the heat down to medium low. I like to let it simmer for another 15- 20 minutes or so. That’s it! Serve over rice!

Enjoy!

Image

This is a version I made a while ago with green beans, carrots, and potatoes. I did not have a boiled egg on my version this evening. It may seem weird, but it actually is very good with the egg.

Leave a Reply

